image for Royal Television Society announces winners of student television awards 2017

Royal Television Society announces winners of student television awards 2017

Published on Monday, 19th June 2017

The Royal Television Society (RTS), Britain's leading forum for television and related media, has announced the winners of the RTS Student Television Awards 2017.

Chaired by Philip Edgar-Jones, Director of Sky Arts, the awards recognise the best audiovisual work created by students across the UK and Republic of Ireland at undergraduate and postgraduate level.

In the undergraduate categories, Arts University Bournemouth picked-up three awards including the newly launched Judges’ Award, which went to Bleach. The film, which was created by Jesse Lewis-Reece, Ike Newman and Ania Polewiak, also secured the Undergraduate Drama award; while Jacob Gerrard took home the  Undergraduate Craft Skills - Camerawork prize for his role in the project.

University for the Creative Arts student, Tudor Massaci, picked-up two awards, collecting both the Undergraduate Short Feature and the Undergraduate Craft Skills - Editing gongs for Nymphs; while Kingston University student Jennifer Zheng took home the Undergraduate Animation trophy for Tough.

Yousef Thami, Liberty Shaw, Jake River Parker and Heather Davenport secured a win for University of Central Lancashire in the Undergraduate Comedy & Entertainment category for Headless: The Ed Shales Story; University of the West of England students Christy Tattershall, Matt Pidala, Alex Handschuh, Edd Roberts and Patrick Royall collected the Undergraduate Factual award for The Wall and Jennifer Henry from University of Salford won the Undergraduate News category for Life as a Refugee.

The Undergraduate Craft Skills - Production Design award went to Mads Ogaard and Katie Wyman from Falmouth University for their film I Am Dyslexic; while University of Bristol student Oliver Roberts collected the Undergraduate Craft Skills - Sound trophy for Heist.

National Film and Television School took home seven of the nine postgraduate gongs. Students Raphael Beaulieu and Marika Santala picked-up the Postgraduate Comedy & Entertainment award for their film The Love Gym; James Gardner and Helene Sifre’s secured the Postgraduate Drama trophy for Ferris & The Fancy Pigeon and Uprooted, which was made by Ross Domoney, Joseph Comar, Tom Jenkins, Marina Elderton and Tim Parris, secured the Postgraduate Factual award. NFTS film Mia picked up Postgraduate Craft Skills awards for Camerawork, Production Design and Sound. These were collected by Krzysztof Trojnar, Joelle Aoun and Eleanor Nicholls, respectively; Dennis Mabry picked-up the Postgraduate Craft Skills - Editing award for The Sunflower Inn.

The Postgraduate Animation award went to Josh Saunders at Royal College of Art for his film The Grey Hound; while Kit Bradshaw and Rosalind Church from City, University of London took home the Postgraduate News trophy for The Naked Truth: Britain's Cyber Sperm Donors.

The winners were announced at a ceremony, hosted by comedian, writer, presenter and actress, Katherine Ryan, on Friday 16 June at the BFI Southbank. Full details can be found at:

Photography courtesy of Richard Kendall/RTS