image for Royal Television Society accounces 2016 undergraduate bursary recipients

Royal Television Society accounces 2016 undergraduate bursary recipients

Published on Wednesday, 5th October 2016

Britain's leading forum for television and related media and an educational charity whose purpose is to promote the art and science of television – has today announced the recipients of its 2016 undergraduate bursary scheme, which aims to widen participation in media and related industries and support talented students from lower income backgrounds seeking to pursue a career in television.

The 2016 bursary scheme offers 20 bursaries for Television Production and Broadcast Journalism students and seven bursaries for Computing and Engineering undergraduates, bringing the total amount invested in the two schemes to £79,000.

Those receiving a Television Production and Broadcast Journalism Bursary include: Katie Brown; Peter Chapman; Jamie Davidson; Leeford Dean; Aaron Dimes; Shona Fegan; Amber Fisher; Emily Friend; Natasha Graham; Alexander Greensmith; Lee Hodgetts; Lauren Jones; Colin MacRae; Alicia Newing; Lydia Noakes; Timothy Payne; Charlie Schultz; Hannah Spary; Alysha Takoushian and Mark Tran.

Those receiving a Computing and Engineering Bursary include: Ertug Aytug; Keoni D’Souza; Danial Farooq; Embla Hocking; Oliver Hope; James Mailey and Yasmin Voong.

Theresa Wise, RTS CEO, says “The RTS is committed to supporting UK undergraduates seeking to work in television and its related fields. Since its launch in 2014 we have provided vital support to 45 talented individuals – offering not only the bursary itself but also mentoring and access to contacts within the broadcasting industry.

“2016 sees us continue this work. The response to our two schemes has been fantastic and it’s hugely exciting to see such a high number of people seeking to work in the TV industry. The calibre of applicants has been outstanding and those applying have demonstrated real ambition and commitment to learning. Due to this we have decided to award two additional bursaries to Computing and Engineering undergraduates bringing the total number of recipients this year to 27. We look forward to following their future career progress and achievements.”   

During their studies, each recipient will be given £1,000 per year to assist with their expenses and living costs. In addition, each beneficiary will receive free membership of the RTS and The Hospital Club – a private members club for those in the creative industries – while studying, and one year’s free membership of the RTS after they graduate. In their final year of study, the RTS will also aim to set-up mentoring opportunities with one of its industry members.

The recipients were selected by a panel of industry professionals following an open call to UK students applying for courses at accredited Universities. For further information please visit